<

Tides | Ebb and flood

Tides

The beaches Vlissingen are never the same width because of the tides. When you are in Vlissingen, you might want to take a walk on the beach. It is very useful to know what the tide is.

You will find the astronomical water level forecast for Vlissingen for the two following months.

June 2017

Tuesday 27 June
17:20 hrs
237 cm
 
23:55 hrs
-224 cm
Wednesday 28 June
5:46 hrs
250 cm
 
12:05 hrs
-187 cm
 
18:11 hrs
226 cm
Thursday 29 June
0:39 hrs
-220 cm
 
6:36 hrs
237 cm
 
12:56 hrs
-176 cm
 
19:06 hrs
212 cm
Friday 30 June
1:29 hrs
-212 cm
 
7:31 hrs
221 cm
 
13:46 hrs
-165 cm
 
20:00 hrs
196 cm

July 2017

Saturday 1 July
2:19 hrs
-200 cm
 
8:36 hrs
201 cm
 
14:40 hrs
-154 cm
 
21:01 hrs
178 cm
Sunday 2 July
3:14 hrs
-185 cm
 
9:35 hrs
182 cm
 
15:46 hrs
-145 cm
 
22:05 hrs
163 cm
Monday 3 July
4:14 hrs
-172 cm
 
10:51 hrs
172 cm
 
16:55 hrs
-142 cm
 
23:15 hrs
159 cm
Tuesday 4 July
5:34 hrs
-166 cm
 
11:56 hrs
173 cm
 
18:05 hrs
-147 cm
Wednesday 5 July
0:16 hrs
165 cm
 
6:35 hrs
-167 cm
 
12:50 hrs
182 cm
 
18:54 hrs
-157 cm
Thursday 6 July
1:05 hrs
177 cm
 
7:26 hrs
-169 cm
 
13:35 hrs
192 cm
 
19:45 hrs
-168 cm
Friday 7 July
1:56 hrs
189 cm
 
8:05 hrs
-171 cm
 
14:18 hrs
201 cm
 
20:25 hrs
-177 cm
Saturday 8 July
2:32 hrs
201 cm
 
8:46 hrs
-172 cm
 
14:51 hrs
209 cm
 
21:08 hrs
-186 cm
Sunday 9 July
3:08 hrs
212 cm
 
9:15 hrs
-174 cm
 
15:25 hrs
216 cm
 
21:45 hrs
-193 cm
Monday 10 July
3:38 hrs
221 cm
 
9:55 hrs
-176 cm
 
15:57 hrs
222 cm
 
22:26 hrs
-199 cm
Tuesday 11 July
4:16 hrs
226 cm
 
10:36 hrs
-175 cm
 
16:36 hrs
222 cm
 
23:06 hrs
-202 cm
Wednesday 12 July
4:48 hrs
226 cm
 
11:05 hrs
-172 cm
 
17:07 hrs
218 cm
 
23:39 hrs
-202 cm
Thursday 13 July
5:26 hrs
222 cm
 
11:46 hrs
-167 cm
 
17:46 hrs
211 cm
Friday 14 July
0:20 hrs
-200 cm
 
6:01 hrs
218 cm
 
12:25 hrs
-163 cm
 
18:18 hrs
205 cm
Saturday 15 July
0:54 hrs
-197 cm
 
6:41 hrs
212 cm
 
13:06 hrs
-159 cm
 
19:05 hrs
199 cm
Sunday 16 July
1:46 hrs
-195 cm
 
7:35 hrs
204 cm
 
13:56 hrs
-157 cm
 
20:00 hrs
191 cm
Monday 17 July
2:36 hrs
-192 cm
 
8:35 hrs
196 cm
 
14:44 hrs
-154 cm
 
21:09 hrs
185 cm
Tuesday 18 July
3:30 hrs
-188 cm
 
9:46 hrs
193 cm
 
15:56 hrs
-153 cm
 
22:16 hrs
185 cm
Wednesday 19 July
4:36 hrs
-184 cm
 
10:51 hrs
196 cm
 
17:05 hrs
-157 cm
 
23:21 hrs
193 cm
Thursday 20 July
5:45 hrs
-184 cm
 
12:02 hrs
205 cm
 
18:19 hrs
-168 cm
Friday 21 July
0:27 hrs
209 cm
 
6:55 hrs
-190 cm
 
13:05 hrs
219 cm
 
19:30 hrs
-185 cm
Saturday 22 July
1:25 hrs
229 cm
 
7:55 hrs
-198 cm
 
13:55 hrs
234 cm
 
20:27 hrs
-202 cm
Sunday 23 July
2:16 hrs
246 cm
 
8:48 hrs
-202 cm
 
14:45 hrs
244 cm
 
21:17 hrs
-215 cm
Monday 24 July
3:05 hrs
258 cm
 
9:36 hrs
-200 cm
 
15:32 hrs
248 cm
 
22:05 hrs
-222 cm
Tuesday 25 July
3:51 hrs
264 cm
 
10:20 hrs
-196 cm
 
16:16 hrs
249 cm
 
22:52 hrs
-225 cm
Wednesday 26 July
4:36 hrs
263 cm
 
11:02 hrs
-189 cm
 
17:06 hrs
246 cm
 
23:35 hrs
-223 cm
Thursday 27 July
5:26 hrs
256 cm
 
11:45 hrs
-181 cm
 
17:47 hrs
239 cm
Friday 28 July
0:20 hrs
-217 cm
 
6:10 hrs
244 cm
 
12:25 hrs
-173 cm
 
18:36 hrs
227 cm
Saturday 29 July
0:59 hrs
-207 cm
 
6:59 hrs
226 cm
 
13:10 hrs
-164 cm
 
19:22 hrs
211 cm
Sunday 30 July
1:45 hrs
-193 cm
 
7:49 hrs
203 cm
 
13:56 hrs
-153 cm
 
20:09 hrs
190 cm
Monday 31 July
2:35 hrs
-176 cm
 
8:46 hrs
178 cm
 
14:56 hrs
-141 cm
 
21:06 hrs
166 cm
Getijden

These forecasts apply to average meteorological conditions and are calculated by the Dutch Ministry of Transport. In the two upper tables, the high tide is given in positive centimetres, and the low tide in negative centimetres, relative to NAP (general Dutch level).

Ebb and flow

The phase of retreating water is called ebb. A beach will get bigger during ebb. In the Waddenzee or Oosterschelde, mud plates will appear, which makes it possible to go hiking to the islands. At the end of ebb period, the water is at the lowest point: this is called low tide.

The phase of rising water is called flow. A beach will then get smaller, narrower. Big mud plates, like in the Waddenzee or Oosterschelde, will overflow with water during flow. The water level reached at the end of the flow phase is called high tide.

The time between the start of one flow and the start of the next flow is on average 12 hours and 25 minutes.

Tips