<

Tides | Ebb and flood

Tides

The beaches Vlissingen are never the same width because of the tides. When you are in Vlissingen, you might want to take a walk on the beach. It is very useful to know what the tide is.

You will find the astronomical water level forecast for Vlissingen for the two following months.

April 2017

Thursday 27 April
9:45 hrs
-235 cm
 
15:35 hrs
269 cm
 
22:06 hrs
-215 cm
Friday 28 April
3:52 hrs
265 cm
 
10:31 hrs
-235 cm
 
16:15 hrs
263 cm
 
22:48 hrs
-218 cm
Saturday 29 April
4:35 hrs
264 cm
 
11:16 hrs
-231 cm
 
17:00 hrs
250 cm
 
23:36 hrs
-217 cm
Sunday 30 April
5:21 hrs
255 cm
 
11:58 hrs
-220 cm
 
17:49 hrs
231 cm

May 2017

Monday 1 May
0:19 hrs
-213 cm
 
6:11 hrs
239 cm
 
12:46 hrs
-205 cm
 
18:46 hrs
207 cm
Tuesday 2 May
1:16 hrs
-205 cm
 
7:09 hrs
217 cm
 
13:31 hrs
-187 cm
 
19:45 hrs
183 cm
Wednesday 3 May
2:10 hrs
-194 cm
 
8:19 hrs
196 cm
 
14:35 hrs
-167 cm
 
20:56 hrs
162 cm
Thursday 4 May
3:20 hrs
-183 cm
 
9:35 hrs
181 cm
 
15:49 hrs
-153 cm
 
22:16 hrs
150 cm
Friday 5 May
4:40 hrs
-178 cm
 
10:55 hrs
179 cm
 
17:25 hrs
-153 cm
 
23:24 hrs
157 cm
Saturday 6 May
6:06 hrs
-185 cm
 
12:06 hrs
193 cm
 
18:36 hrs
-164 cm
Sunday 7 May
0:31 hrs
177 cm
 
7:06 hrs
-198 cm
 
13:06 hrs
210 cm
 
19:26 hrs
-175 cm
Monday 8 May
1:25 hrs
194 cm
 
7:45 hrs
-205 cm
 
13:45 hrs
221 cm
 
20:06 hrs
-182 cm
Tuesday 9 May
2:06 hrs
206 cm
 
8:26 hrs
-206 cm
 
14:26 hrs
225 cm
 
20:39 hrs
-188 cm
Wednesday 10 May
2:38 hrs
214 cm
 
9:01 hrs
-205 cm
 
15:01 hrs
227 cm
 
21:16 hrs
-193 cm
Thursday 11 May
3:15 hrs
221 cm
 
9:38 hrs
-203 cm
 
15:35 hrs
227 cm
 
21:52 hrs
-199 cm
Friday 12 May
3:45 hrs
226 cm
 
10:09 hrs
-199 cm
 
16:07 hrs
226 cm
 
22:26 hrs
-200 cm
Saturday 13 May
4:21 hrs
227 cm
 
10:46 hrs
-192 cm
 
16:39 hrs
220 cm
 
23:06 hrs
-197 cm
Sunday 14 May
4:52 hrs
221 cm
 
11:15 hrs
-182 cm
 
17:11 hrs
209 cm
 
23:36 hrs
-190 cm
Monday 15 May
5:25 hrs
210 cm
 
11:46 hrs
-171 cm
 
17:46 hrs
197 cm
 
23:59 hrs
-184 cm
Tuesday 16 May
5:57 hrs
199 cm
 
12:15 hrs
-163 cm
 
18:16 hrs
185 cm
Wednesday 17 May
0:36 hrs
-179 cm
 
6:35 hrs
187 cm
 
12:56 hrs
-155 cm
 
18:55 hrs
172 cm
Thursday 18 May
1:15 hrs
-174 cm
 
7:26 hrs
172 cm
 
13:35 hrs
-145 cm
 
19:55 hrs
155 cm
Friday 19 May
2:15 hrs
-167 cm
 
8:34 hrs
158 cm
 
14:44 hrs
-136 cm
 
21:10 hrs
144 cm
Saturday 20 May
3:45 hrs
-165 cm
 
9:58 hrs
161 cm
 
16:20 hrs
-139 cm
 
22:25 hrs
148 cm
Sunday 21 May
4:56 hrs
-173 cm
 
11:06 hrs
177 cm
 
17:31 hrs
-152 cm
 
23:36 hrs
167 cm
Monday 22 May
5:55 hrs
-186 cm
 
12:05 hrs
203 cm
 
18:26 hrs
-167 cm
Tuesday 23 May
0:27 hrs
195 cm
 
6:55 hrs
-201 cm
 
12:57 hrs
229 cm
 
19:18 hrs
-184 cm
Wednesday 24 May
1:17 hrs
222 cm
 
7:46 hrs
-214 cm
 
13:46 hrs
250 cm
 
20:11 hrs
-198 cm
Thursday 25 May
2:03 hrs
243 cm
 
8:35 hrs
-224 cm
 
14:28 hrs
261 cm
 
20:57 hrs
-210 cm
Friday 26 May
2:47 hrs
258 cm
 
9:22 hrs
-228 cm
 
15:14 hrs
263 cm
 
21:46 hrs
-218 cm
Saturday 27 May
3:33 hrs
264 cm
 
10:08 hrs
-226 cm
 
15:59 hrs
258 cm
 
22:32 hrs
-222 cm
Sunday 28 May
4:18 hrs
263 cm
 
10:56 hrs
-220 cm
 
16:46 hrs
246 cm
 
23:20 hrs
-223 cm
Monday 29 May
5:06 hrs
256 cm
 
11:38 hrs
-209 cm
 
17:35 hrs
230 cm
Tuesday 30 May
0:06 hrs
-220 cm
 
5:57 hrs
243 cm
 
12:25 hrs
-196 cm
 
18:28 hrs
213 cm
Wednesday 31 May
0:55 hrs
-215 cm
 
6:58 hrs
227 cm
 
13:15 hrs
-181 cm
 
19:28 hrs
196 cm
Getijden

These forecasts apply to average meteorological conditions and are calculated by the Dutch Ministry of Transport. In the two upper tables, the high tide is given in positive centimetres, and the low tide in negative centimetres, relative to NAP (general Dutch level).

Ebb and flow

The phase of retreating water is called ebb. A beach will get bigger during ebb. In the Waddenzee or Oosterschelde, mud plates will appear, which makes it possible to go hiking to the islands. At the end of ebb period, the water is at the lowest point: this is called low tide.

The phase of rising water is called flow. A beach will then get smaller, narrower. Big mud plates, like in the Waddenzee or Oosterschelde, will overflow with water during flow. The water level reached at the end of the flow phase is called high tide.

The time between the start of one flow and the start of the next flow is on average 12 hours and 25 minutes.

Tips